• View as:
Sort by:
Show:
legends of hercules and ulysses - 339 items found | Last update: 22 July 2019 - 04:14:14

The Usborne Book of Legends (World Legends)

Collects legends about Ulysses, Hercules, and Jason, their lives and deeds.

Ulysses Against the Son of Hercules

Platform:  DVD MOVIE Publisher:  ALPHA VIDEO Packaging:  DVD STYLE BOX The sons of Hercules have long been the special agents of the gods. When Ulysses incurs the anger of Zeus by blinding the Cyclops the gods send Heracles the bravest of the sons to capture him and bring him to justice. The hero and his prisoner find their path blocked by many obstacles and are captured by an army of monstrous birdmen. They make their escape but a greater peril looms - the savage army of the mad King Lagos is building an assault against Heracles' people. As Heracles returns to his homeland to prepare its defenses Ulysses is taken captive by Lagos and the two adversaries become unlikely allies in the battle to defeat the bloodthirsty despot.This classic sword and sandal adventure was one of several Hercules films directed by cult favorite Mario Caiano whose credits include Fraulein S.S. and Nightmare Castle. Georges Marchal who played Ulysses went on play The Jesuit in Luis Bunuel's The Milky Way. Starring: Georges Marchal & Michael LaneDirected by: Mario Caiano DVD Details: Run Time: 91 minutesNumber of Discs: 1Originally Released in 1961ColorNo region encoding; For global distribution.

Classical Mythology: Myths and Legends of the Ancient World

Travel back to a time when divine beings mixed with mortals, when heroes battled sorcerers, and nature was a mysterious realm ruled by beautiful and dangerous deities.These gods of Classical antiquity were far from ideal role models, their jealous pride and vengeful egos wrought havoc on the world, reflecting very human passions - and making for some truly compelling stories.From the legends of Hercules and the Titans, to tales of the underworld and the destruction of Troy, this elegant collection contains more than 40 fascinating tales retold by a variety of expert storytellers.Beautifully illustrated with dramatic scenes from master artists of the 16th through to the 19th century, these enduring myths have formed a major part of Western culture for millennia and continue to capture our imaginations today.

Four Heroes of Greek Mythology: Hercules, Jason, Achilles, Ulysses

Originally published in 1904 as individual chapters of the authors’ larger work, “Famous Men of Greece,” this Kindle edition, equivalent in length to a physical book of approximately 55 pages, describes, in simple language for young readers, the heroic feats of Hecules (including his 12 labors), Jason (and his quest for the golden fleece), Achilles (and his role in the Trojan War), and Ulysses (also known as Odysseus, the central figure of Homer’s “Oddysey”).SAMPLE PASSAGES:(Hercules) This hydra was a nine-headed water serpent whose very breath was poisonous. It was hard to kill the creature because as soon as one head was cut off two others at once sprang up in its place. This task might have proved too much for Hercules if a friend had not prevented new heads from growing by burning each neck with a firebrand the instant that Hercules cut off the head. (Jason) This fleece became one of the wonders of the world; and lest it should be stolen, a dragon was set to watch it. Many persons tried to get possession of it, but most, if not all of them, lost their lives in the attempt. Jason knew all this, but he said at once that he would get the fleece. Before setting out on the journey, however, he went to a place called Dodona to ask the advice of Jupiter; for at Dodona th...

Pearseus: Rise of the Prince (Volume 1)

Could you save the woman who killed your son?Sci-fi fantasy filled with intrigue, murder, and betrayal. Fans of Game of Thrones and Dune have an exciting new series to devour, voted as one of the 100 Indie books you should read before you die.Terrified of an ominous prophecy and spurred on by a shadowy advisor, a cruel ruler sends the young son of her favorite General to be executed. Soon, however, she has to beg the grieving father to save the country from an invading army. Now, the General faces a stark choice between revenge and honoring his vows, unaware that his son's fate and that of the entire planet are inextricably linked."A creative and unforgettable series that will one day become a gem among sci-fi fantasy books."~ Janice Spina, author

Forged in Death (The Death Wizard Chronicles Book 1)

Enter the realm . . .Book One, The Death Wizard Chronicles.Only a Death-Knower can die. And live again.Only a Death-Knower can return from death. And remember. Only a Death-Knower can tell the world what he's seen. Not all care to listen.For a thousand years, none have rivaled the power of Torg, the Death-Knower wizard, as he ruled his people and kept peace on Triken.Now a new threat has suddenly arisen. The evil sorcerer Invictus is greater even than Torg, and his greed and ambition threaten to engulf the land in eternal darkness. When Invictus imprisons Torg in a horrifying pit bored into the solid rock of a frozen mountain, the fate of Triken hangs in the balance.Torg becomes freedom's final hope, but first he must die to earn the victory.Jim Melvin is the author of The Death Wizard Chronicles, a six-book epic fantasy. He was an award-winning journalist at the St. Petersburg Times for twenty-five years. As a reporter, he specialized in science, nature, health and fitness, and he wrote about everything from childhood drowning to erupting volcanoes. Jim is a student of Eastern philosophy and mindfulness meditation, both of which he weaves extensively into his work. Jim lives in Upstate South Carolina in the foothills of the mountains. He's married and has five daughters. Visit h...

Phèdre

With Phèdre, Racine chose once more a subject from Greek mythology, already treated by Greek and Roman tragic poets, notably by Euripides in Hippolytus and Seneca in Phaedra. In the absence of her royal husband Thésée, Phèdre ends by declaring her love to Hippolyte, Thésée's son from a previous marriage.

Pearseus: Vigil: Book 3 Of The Pearseus Sci-Fi Fantasy Series

How Far Would You Go To Save Your Loved Ones?Having lost everything to Altman’s machinations, Cyrus is rescued by his sister. They flee to the north, expecting to find sanctuary among the First. Instead, they are hunted by the fearsome creatures unleashed by the Iotas. With no help from anyone, is everything lost? Or can an army that’s been sleeping for the past hundred thousand years help them claim back the planet they’ve come to call home?"I really can't think of another series that tied the world of fantasy and scifi together so well since Pern."~ Joseph Long

Pearseus: Endgame (book 4 of the Pearseus epic fantasy series)

Ancient Greece—in spaceCould you save those who murdered your world?Cyrus will risk everything to gain back his throne. But new enemies are waiting for him; enemies that will stop at nothing to destroy humanity once and for all. With the Capital invading Anthea and the north in turmoil, every step of the journey is fraught with peril. In a world falling apart, can Cyrus and his friends prevent humanity’s extinction?"A creative and unforgettable series that will one day become a gem among sci-fi fantasy books."~ Janice Spina

MYTHS AND LEGENDS OF ALL NATIONS - 25 illustrated myths, legends and stories for children

Herein are 25 famous stories from The Greek, German, English, Spanish Scandinavian, Danish, French, Russian, Bohemian, Italian and other sources. These stories are further brought to life by 24 full colour platesThe myths and legends gathered here have appealed and will continue to appeal to every age. Nowhere in the realm of fiction are there stories to compare with those which took form centuries ago when the human race was in its childhood—stories so intimately connected with the life and history and religion of the great peoples of antiquity that they have become an integral part of our own civilization. These are a heritage of wealth to every child that is born into the world. Myths and legends like:Prometheus The Friend Of Man, The Labors Of Hercules, The Gorgon's Head, The Golden Fleece, The Cyclops, The Sack Of Troy, Beowulf And Grendel, The Good King Arthur and many, many more.This volume is sure to keep you and your young ones enchanted for hours, if not because of the content, then because of their quality.============TAGS: folklore, fairy tales, myths, legend, land, , children’s stories, bedtime, fables,  wonder tales, All, nations, Achilles, Aetes, Æetes, Aeneas, Æneas, Agamemnon, animals, Antigone, Apollo, Argonaut, Argos, Artemis, Arthur, Atreus, Augeas, Bad...

Etsy
AliExpress
HomeDepot
OverStock
Costco