• View as:
Sort by:
Show:
how the world works bova - 60 items found | Last update: 09 February 2023 - 04:42:30

How the World Works: A Brief Survey of International Relations (3rd Edition)

For courses in International Relations.   International Politics: Comparing Paradigms How the World Works: A Brief Survey of International Relations provides the detailed, micro-level knowledge readers need to understand world politics, harnessing their curiosity about global current events. The text covers the continuing swirl of events that dominate world politics in our present–from the Arab Spring, to the Russian invasion of Crimea, to the rise of ISIS, to the Ebola crisis in West Africa.   The Third Edition makes improvements upon the book in general while maintaining its core mission: to tap into reader interest in current events and help each reader build a conceptual and theoretical sophistication that remains when these current events become a part of history. The text challenges readers to question their assumptions about the world and what they may think they already know about international relations. Overall, the text makes it clear that even scholars and politicians disagree about the world’s political and economic interactions, and makes a point to introduce readers to all paradigms–encouraging them to form their own opinions about how the world works.   Also available with MyPoliSciLab® MyPoliSciLab for the International Relations course exte...

Revel for How the World Works: A Brief Survey of International Relations -- Access Card (3rd Edition)

International Politics: Comparing Paradigms REVEL™ for How the World Works: A Brief Survey of International Relations provides the detailed, micro-level knowledge students need to understand world politics, harnessing students’ curiosity about global current events. Author Russell Bova covers the continuing swirl of events that dominate world politics in our present — from the Arab Spring, to the Russian invasion of Crimea, to the rise of ISIS, to the Ebola crisis in West Africa. REVEL for the Third Edition makes improvements in general while maintaining its core mission: to tap into students’ interest in current events and help each student build a conceptual and theoretical sophistication that remains when these current events become a part of history. REVEL for How the World Works challenges students to question their assumptions about the world and what they may think they already know about international relations. Overall, it makes it clear that even scholars and politicians disagree about the world’s political and economic interactions, and makes a point to introduce students to all paradigms — encouraging them to form their own opinions about how the world works. REVEL is Pearson’s newest way of delivering our respected content. Fully digital and highly enga...

The Atlantis Gene: A Thriller (The Origin Mystery, Book 1)

THE GREATEST MYSTERY OF ALL TIME...THE HISTORY OF HUMAN ORIGINS...WILL BE REVEALED.* * *Read the novel that started it all: The Atlantis Gene is the first book in A.G. Riddle’s bestselling Origin Mystery trilogy, which has sold OVER THREE MILLION COPIES WORLDWIDE, been translated into twenty languages, and is in development to be a major motion picture!* * *70,000 years ago, the human race almost went extinct.We survived, but no one knows how.Until now.The countdown to the next stage of human evolution is about to begin, and humanity might not survive this time.* * *Off the coast of Antarctica, a research vessel discovers a mysterious structure buried deep within an iceberg. It has been there for thousands of years, and something is guarding it. Could it be the fabled city of Atlantis? Or is it something more dangerous?At the same moment, in Jakarta, Indonesia, a brilliant geneticist named Kate Warner has just discovered a breakthrough treatment for autism. Or so she thinks. What she has found is far more deadly--for her and for the entire human race. Her work could unleash the next stage of human evolution. It might also hold the key to unlocking the mysterious structure off the coast of Antarctica.On the other side of Jakarta, Agent David Vale is racing to uncover a conspirac...

How the World Works: A Brief Survey of International Relations (2nd Edition)

How the World Works builds on students’ instincts about current world events and develops them into a more systematic and enduring understanding.  This brief text introduces each of the field’s major theories and demonstrates how different conceptual tools are used to interpret patterns in international relations. How the World Works not only grounds students in the essentials of international relations but also helps students use them to see past the headlines.

Revel for How the World Works: A Brief Survey of International Relations -- Combo Access Card (3rd Edition)

International Politics: Comparing Paradigms REVEL™ for How the World Works: A Brief Survey of International Relations provides the detailed, micro-level knowledge students need to understand world politics, harnessing students’ curiosity about global current events. Author Russell Bova covers the continuing swirl of events that dominate world politics in our present – from the Arab Spring, to the Russian invasion of Crimea, to the rise of ISIS, to the Ebola crisis in West Africa. REVEL for the Third Edition makes improvements in general while maintaining its core mission: to tap into students’ interest in current events and help each student build a conceptual and theoretical sophistication that remains when these current events become a part of history. REVEL for How the World Works challenges students to question their assumptions about the world and what they may think they already know about international relations. Overall, it makes it clear that even scholars and politicians disagree about the world’s political and economic interactions, and makes a point to introduce students to all paradigms – encouraging them to form their own opinions about how the world works. REVEL is Pearson’s newest way of delivering our respected content. Fully digital and highly enga...

Foothold: The Story of Mankind's First Expedition to the Stars

Adventure. Adversity. Hope.A starship with eight people is launched into the unknown for the epic adventure of a lifetime.In the second half of the 21st century, Earth is struggling under the load of an ever-increasing population and a degrading environment. The tide of human politics ebbs and flows. Rising above the turmoil, the will is found to build one lone starship and launch it toward Tau Ceti.Hope for the future, hope for humanity.+++An interview with the authorIs this the original edition?No, it was professionally re-edited and given a new cover in May 2016.How would you describe Foothold?It’s a space colonization adventure. There’s adversity, but no violence. There’s science, but not so much that the characters and adventure are lost in technobabble.So it’s not for those that like hard science fiction?I love hard science fiction! Any book that features interstellar travel needs technological breakthroughs, and Foothold is no exception. The science is deliberately low-tech in some ways though, as our colonists need hardy technology that they can repair themselves. As the series progresses, we will see more and more high-technology appearing.Will the series remain non-violent?No, that will change in book 2.Why?Humans are humans. Wherever they go, conflict is bound ...

Readings on How the World Works: Current Issues in International Relations

Readings on How the World Works presents writings on contemporary issues in international relations and provides examples of how the field’s major theories explain real-world events. Designed to complement the coverage in survey texts like How the World Works, this reader balances analytical and descriptive selections that are accessible for students new to political science. Readings on How the World Works is easy and inexpensive to add to any course and helps students develop a more systematic and enduring understanding of international relations.

How The World Works

“I need you to teach me how the world works.” That simple request from a daughter to her father initiated this collection of aphorisms, opinions, observations and thoughts. Including material on life principles, relationships, children, tribes, humans, cultures, governments, God, faith, religion, work, business and entrepreneurship, "How The World Works", is a distillation of a father’s triumphs, tragedies, successes, failures, painful lessons, life experiences and inherited, multi-generational wisdom. "How The World Works" has been described as "an owner's manual for life." Reader comments include: “It's one of the best books I've ever read; it gets better with each page.” – Joe Reardon “Your book is giving me the chance to connect with my 17 year old son!” – Scot Mortier “Thought provoking” – Scott Penwarden “Couldn't put it down for hours.” – Bob Mueller “So many great lessons, expressed so clearly and succinctly.” – Floyd Dillman “Mr. Hackney has gathered a wealth of wisdom in this book - there is something to inspire, motivate and educate everyone.” – Lauren Hillquist

Star Nomad: Fallen Empire, Book 1

The Alliance has toppled the tyrannical empire. It should be a time for celebration, but not for fighter pilot Captain Alisa Marchenko. After barely surviving a crash in the final battle for freedom, she's stranded on a dustball of a planet, billions of miles from her young daughter. She has no money or resources, and there are no transports heading to Perun, her former home and the last imperial stronghold. But she has a plan. Steal a dilapidated and malfunctioning freighter from a junkyard full of lawless savages. Slightly suicidal, but she believes she can do it. Her plan, however, does not account for the elite cyborg soldier squatting in the freighter, intending to use it for his own purposes. As an imperial soldier, he has no love for Alliance pilots. In fact, he's quite fond of killing them.Alisa has more problems than she can count, but she can't let cyborgs, savages, or ancient malfunctioning ships stand in her way. If she does, she’ll never see her daughter again.Fans of Firefly and Star Wars should enjoy this fun, fast-paced new series from USA Today best-selling author, Lindsay Buroker.

Transport

“Transport? Transport to where, Sir?” - “Possibly straight to hell!”An extraterrestrial object is discovered off the coast of California; a sphere that transports humans to other solar systems. Death-row inmate Russell Harris and nine other convicts are given the chance to save their lives by agreeing to travel as test subjects on the transporter. But when the first volunteer dies a gruesome death, it becomes clear to Russell and his comrades that the venture is little more than a merciless death mission on which they will all perish. Their only chance of survival is to uncover the secret of the mysterious object, but that too seems hopeless – because no trace of the transporter’s constructors can be foundStargate meets The Fly meets The Dirty Dozen - a suspense-packed science-fiction thriller from Storyteller Award winning author Phillip P. Peterson

Etsy
AliExpress
HomeDepot
OverStock
Costco