• View as:
Sort by:
Show:
the grizzly maze book - 220 items found | Last update: 09 February 2023 - 03:20:45

The Grizzly Maze: Timothy Treadwell's Fatal Obsession with Alaskan Bears

With a new introduction on Werner Herzog’s film entitled The Grizzly ManTimothy Treadwell, self-styled “bear whisperer” dared to live among the grizzlies, seeking to overturn the perception of them as dangerously aggressive animals. When he and his girlfriend were mauled, it created a media sensation.In The Grizzly Maze, Nick Jans, a seasoned outdoor writer with a quarter century of experience writing about Alaska and bears, traces Treadwell’s rise from unknown waiter in California to celebrity, providing a moving portrait of the man whose controversial ideas and behavior earned him the scorn of hunters, the adoration of animal lovers and the skepticism of naturalists. “Intensely imagistic, artfully controlled prose . . . behind the building tension of Treadwell’s path to oblivion, a stunning landscape looms.”—Newsday

Dungeons & Dragons Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage (Adventure Book, D&D Roleplaying Game)

Explore the mega-dungeon of Undermountain in this adventure for the world’s greatest roleplaying game. In the city of Waterdeep rests a tavern called the Yawning Portal, named after the gaping pit in its common room. At the bottom of this crumbling shaft is a labyrinthine dungeon shunned by all but the most daring adventurers. Known as Undermountain, this dungeon is the domain of the mad wizard Halaster Blackcloak. Long has the Mad Mage dwelt in these forlorn depths, seeding his lair with monsters, traps, and mysteries—to what end is a constant source of speculation and concern. • The follow up to Waterdeep: Dragon Heist, Dungeon of the Mad Mage takes adventurers deep into one of D&D's biggest dungeons. Each of Undermountain's twenty-three levels is an adventure setting unto itself, and the book includes a map for each one. • Waterdeep, known as the City of Splendors, is one of D&D’s most iconic locations. Also the setting for the board game Lords of Waterdeeep, it’s the jewel of the Sword Coast—a sprawling melting pot held together by firm laws and swift justice.   • Dungeon of the Mad Mage is the second of two Dungeons & Dragons books set in Waterdeep. It picks up where the first, Dragon Heist, leaves off, taking characters of 5th level or higher all the way to...

Dungeon World

Golden Geek RPG of the Year 2012! Combining high-action dungeon crawling with cutting-edge rules, Dungeon World is a roleplaying game of fantasy adventure. You and your friends will explore a land of magic and danger in the roles of adventurers searching for fame, gold, and glory. Dungeon World's rules are easy to learn and always drive the action forward in unexpected ways. A missed roll is never a dead end-failure introduces new complexities and complications. Life as an adventurer is hard and dangerous but it's never boring! Designed to be ready for you to hack, remix, and build new content, Dungeon World includes systems for changing everything to suit your group including creating new races, classes, and monsters. To play, you'll need this rulebook, 3-5 players, some polyhedral dice, and 2-4 hours. Explore fantasy adventure roleplaying in a whole new way with Dungeon World!

Frostgrave: The Maze of Malcor

Part magical university, part museum, part tourist attraction, the great Collegium of Artistry had flourished in Felstad's final days. Under the leadership of the seemingly immortal Malcor the Mad, the vast complex expanded, with new wings being built wherever they would fit, including up and down the rock face, and even buried within the mountain itself. Visitors called it one of the architectural wonders of the world; the students, who often got lost in its endless tunnels, simply called it "The Maze."With a titanic crash, an immense ice shelf tears free from the mountains that that loom above Frostgrave, revealing the lost Collegium, and the race for its secrets begins. The Maze is known to have contained many rare and unique treasures, and who knows what may have survived . . .This new, bumper-sized supplement for Frostgrave contains a host of new adventures, treasures, and creatures to challenge players. It also includes its own unique campaign and experience system, as well as information about several of the mythical lost schools of magic.

Unknown Armies 3 - Book one: Play

AN OCCULT GAME ABOUT BROKEN PEOPLE CONSPIRING TO FIX THE WORLD. It's about getting what you want. Unknown Armies presents magick as it might exist in a world built out of crime friction and secret histories, as twisting wrinkles in reality created by greater and greater risk, sacrifice, and obsession. Unknown Armies asks, what would you risk to change the world? Your friends? Your family? Your health? Your sanity? Magick finds a way to ask the very most from you, until you achieve what you want or you are left with nothing. It's about being relentlessly, hopelessly human. Book One: Play is the book for players. It details: - Obsession and identity - All of the rules for resolving actions. - The central shock gauge mechanic. - How to avoid fights, and how to deal with them when you're dragged into them anyway. - The magick of adepts and avatars.

Dead Man's Fancy: A Novel (A Sean Stranahan Mystery)

The third novel starring Montana's favorite fly fisherman-cum-detective Sean Stranahan, for fans of Craig Johnson and C. J. Box.Cold Hearted River, the sixth in the series, is forthcoming from Viking. Wolves howl as a riderless horse returns at sunset to the Culpepper Dude Ranch in the Madison Valley. The missing woman, Nanika Martinelli, is better known as the Fly Fishing Venus, a red-haired river guide who lures clients the way dry flies draw trout. As Sheriff Martha Ettinger follows hoof tracks in the snow, she finds one of the men who has fallen under the temptress’s spell impaled on the antler tine of a giant bull elk, a kill that’s been claimed by a wolf pack. An accident? If not, is the killer human or animal? With painter, fly fisherman, and sometimes private detective Sean Stranahan’s help, Ettinger will follow clues that point to an animal rights group called the Clan of the Three-Clawed Wolf and to their svengali master, whose eyes blaze with pagan fire. In their most dangerous adventure yet, Stranahan and Ettinger find themselves in the crossfire of wolf lovers, wolf haters, and a sister bent on revenge, and on the trail of an alpha male gone terribly wrong.

Death in the Grizzly Maze: The Timothy Treadwell Story

On the afternoon of October 5, 2003, in Alaska's Katmai National Park, one or more brown bears killed and ate Timothy Treadwell and his girlfriend Amie Huguenard. The next day, park rangers killed the two bears that they assumed were responsible. This frightening and chilling story immediately captured worldwide media attention. Some bear experts felt that Treadwell's death was a matter of time, considering the unorthodox and highly questionable tactics he used in his life among the bears. Yet Timothy's surge in popularity, and his inglorious death, give rise to a plethora of questions.More than just a story about Treadwell, Death in the Grizzly Maze delves into the issues raised by the new breed of reckless wildlife celebrities and answers these questions: Was it a foregone conclusion that Timothy Treadwell had to die? Since Treadwell's actions were so obviously improper why didn't the National Park Service intervene? Did the bears have to die? How the actions of a few are affecting national park policy and promoting improper behavior when encountering wildlife are important issues for the future of wildlife conservation.

Out The Grizzly Maze : Mazes for Children

How fast can you find your way out of the grizzly maze? Working with mazes gives a lot of benefits to the players. It improves the problem solving skills, particularly the ability to plan and brainstorm. You can either start from the beginning and trace your way towards the end of the mazes or you can do it backwards. So, are you up for a challenge?

Grizzly Season: A Greg Salem Mystery

The highly anticipated follow-up to SW Lauden's Bad Citizen Corporation, former Los Angeles police officer Greg Salem and his sidekick Marco escape to a remote cabin in the backend of the Angeles National Forest, only to have their peaceful retreat upturned after stumbling across the marijuana farm operation called Grizzly Flats. When the drug lord Magnus Ursus' latest marijuana crop leaves Greg's hometown and closest friends in disarray—setting off a series of explosive scenes including high-speed motorcycle chases, violent porn shoots, high-altitude gun fights, Mexican drug smuggling and murder—Greg is forced out of retirement to avenge his home and save the lives of those closest him.

Welcome, Scholar

English Ph.D. Derek Rosenblum, the hero of this comic, often shocking novel, can t land a full-time teaching position. After too many years of marginal employment, he wonders: is Dulness, the moronic presiding deity of Alexander Pope s great satiric Dunciad, somehow responsible for the series of misadventures that make up his life? She s only a fiction, Derek tells himself, but he senses her presence everywhere. The authoritative figures he encounters Lucia Luteplucker, his unhelpful adviser at Heartland U, Iron Lady Margaret Thatcher impress him as her fleshly incarnations. They and others constantly thwart Derek, until he discovers just what the goddess wants and gives it to her. Soon he s offered the job of his dreams, and happily tenured Full Professor Rosenblum spends thirty comfortable years boring students. Then, as Welcome, Scholar concludes, final catastrophe arrives.

Etsy
AliExpress
HomeDepot
OverStock
Costco